BLOG TOUR | Blood Red Snow White

full tour schedule can be found at: The Fantastic Flying Book Club
Series: N/A
 Marcus Sedgwick
 young adult, historical fiction
Published: October 25, 2016
Publisher: Roaring Brook Press
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | Book Depository | iTunes | Kobo

It is 1917, and the world is tearing itself to pieces in a dreadful war, but far to the east of the trenches, another battle is breaking out - the Russian Revolution has just begun...  
Blood Red, Snow White captures the mood of this huge moment in history through the adventure of one man who was in the middle of it all; Arthur Ransome, a young British journalist who had first run away to Russia to collect fairy tales.  
Told as three linked novellas, part one captures the days of revolution but retells the story as Russian Fairy Tale, with typical humour and unashamed brutality. Part two is a spy story, set over the course of one evening, as Ransome faces up to his biggest challenge, and part three is a love story, full of tragedy and hope, as every good Russian love story should be.

REVIEW | Savage Reckoning

Series: Backwoods Justice #1
Author: C. Hoyt Caldwell
 mystery, thriller
Publish: Octoer 4, 2016
Publisher: Alibi
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo

In the vein of Elmore Leonard’s Justified, C. Hoyt Caldwell introduces a thriller series set in the dark side of the Appalachian mountains—featuring a heroine who’s playing both sides of the law. 
Deputy Dani Savage would like nothing better than to shoot the wife beaters, carjackers, drug dealers, and all the rest of the low-life good ol’ boys that make policing Baptist Flats, Tennessee, near impossible. Instead, she grits her teeth and serves the God-fearing townsfolk without complaint. The “little deputy,” as she’s known, is often overlooked and ridiculed for being a small-statured woman in a big man’s world. But while investigating a cold case involving a missing teen, Dani stumbles onto some disturbing facts that cannot be ignored. 
Soon Dani realizes that this case goes back decades. There’s a history of young women being stolen from the Tennessee hills, and a legacy of corrupt cops looking the other way. Dani’s investigation leads her to the “closeout kings,” a pair of hired killers with a tale to tell—a tale of a missing girl and a crime worse than murder. Somehow these two deranged hit men are Dani’s last, best allies. They know that it’s time for payback—and in the backwoods, justice takes only one form.

UPDATE POST | September book haul + reading slump + future plans

old photo i took that i never shared anywhere :)

I've been out for around two or three weeks now. I've been busy with uni. We had an event and I was one of the heads of the event. It turned out okay. Not what I was hoping for but I'm super glad it's done. Then, our thesis deadline was pushed one week earlier than usual so I had to work on it immediately after the event. It was super stressful. And a new problem rose during that time and until now, topic defense done and all, we did not talk about it. I still hope things work out though.

ANYWAY, setting all sad talks aside, let me get on with things.

Wuthering Heights (Random House UK, 2016) by Emily Bronte | Wuthering Heights (Penguin Books, 2012) by Emily Bronte | Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie | The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins | Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins | Mocking Jay by Suzanne Collins | Seveneves by Neal Stephenson | A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab | The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman | The Last Star by Rick Yancey | Dark Matter by Blake Crouch| Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

This is a suuuuuuuper late book haul post. But better late than never, yes? These are my #MIBF2016 book haul. I mentioned them before but never had the chance to actually post them here :)

WEEKEND READS | Reading Thrillers!

ohlook, a new Agatha Christie book on my shelf!

This week is the Manila International Book Fair week (#MIBF2016) and the Mystery-a-Thon. Let's briefly talk about both, okay?

I've had a couple of school works to do yadah-yadah-yadah. Stuff like thesis, and events management, and short write-up, and stuff like that. THESE THINGS are the reasons why I'm so behind on my mystery-a-thon. And of course, I may just be making excuses (which I possibly am) but I'm almost halfway through my 2nd read for the readathon which is Savage Reckoning by C. Hoyt Caldwell. Along with this, I took this readathon as an opportunity to get back to reading In Gallup, Greed by Tower Lowe. Read my thoughts on both below!!

NOW on to my #MIBF2016 experience! I went on Friday and Saturday with a different friend a day. I jumped in to an impromptu invite for Friday because I really, REALLY want to go on a weekday because it's more convenient. No long lines and the books are still not so messed up (because they literally get from one shelf to another!). My book hauls can be found on my instagram page :)

All in all, I bought 12 books from #MIBF2016. I had to give up a lot of books I really, really want to have (because of my budget) like Dangerous Girls, Nightingale, Six of Crows, and Vicious. AND I was going to grab a copy of A Court of Mist and Fury by there was NO PAPERBACK! I am not going to grab the hardcover no matter what because (1) it's expensive and I'm poor && (2) it won't be the same as my ACOTAR 'cause it's in paperback. So next time. Definitely.

Despite all those things, I'm still happy for the books I bought. I FINALLY got The Hunger Games trilogy boxset. THE FOIL BOXSET WHICH I ACTUALLY PREFER!! Oh look at those shiny covers!! They are so pretty!!!! And don't shame me but I haven't read Catching Fire and Mockingjay (although I have seen the movie except for Mockingjay part 2). Also, I finally got a copy of Illuminae!! I don't know when I'll read it though. Possibly on November when I'm not too busy. AND I also got my hands on two editions of Wuthering Heights! Their covers are just sooooo pretty!!

Pretty much, these are the highlights of my week. Now, to my reads!!
At Risk | S.G. Redling
This book kept me up until 2:00AM! I like the slow build up, how well established the characters were, how well developed the main character is, and how much suspense the climax holds. The revelation and the thrilling climax was great! Really wished there was more though. Maybe like an epilogue or something. Oh well~
Review will be up soon!!

WEEKEND READS | Mystery-a-thon anyone?

Agatha Christie is QUEEN.

As usual, I've been out. Procrastinating. It's the first time I opened my laptop since I posted my rant-astic review of Into the Light. I haven't commented on anyone's blog since. But I will. You guys wait on that. I have things to do tomorrow like majorly editing out thesis and and layouting posters for events.

ALSO, I'm starting a lettering project tomorrow. It's really personal. I want to discipline myself in regularly practicing and trying out different styles. SO tomorrow on my instagram account, I'm going to post one song title a day. I want to introduce the songs I listen to and the bands and artists I love to everyone while practicing my lettering. I'm still suuuuuuuper NOT GOOD but I hope you see some improvements as days go by. I'm also adding the #100DaysofSongTitlesLettering hashtag at the of each post because basically that's what I'll try to accomplish :)

On other things, I'm hoping to participate on Ely @ Tea & Titles's mystery-a-thon just because I LOVE mystery. I'm sure you guys know how much I love mystery may it be YA mystery or cozy mystery or historical mystery or mystery thriller or crime fiction. As long as there's (good) mystery (and good writing) I'm IN!
Walk on Earth a Stranger (The Gold Seer Trilogy #1) | Rae Carson
I enjoyed Walk on Earth a Stranger but I didn't love it. Don't hate me, please. It's basically one of my most anticipated reads of 2015. And as I said I enjoyed it. I LIKE a lot of the book's historical aspect -- how the other basically explored the time period. BUT the book as a whole didn't made me feel so much. I basically just read the ups and downs of Leah's adventure to California. It was good but it wasn't exciting or magical or emotional for me. I like how her relationship with all the people she traveled with developed though :)
Into the Light (Into the Dark #2) | Caroline T. Patti
This book was a disaster for me. Admittedly there were good things which I pointed out at the end of my review. Read my thoughts here!!

REVIEW | Into the Light

Series: Into the Dark #2
 Caroline T. Patti
 young adult, fantasy, paranormal, romance
 August 23, 2015
Publisher: Month9Books
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | Book Depository

Mercy’s family is back together and the threat of danger appears to have passed. But any relief she feels is short lived as she is ripped from her body and thrown in jail. Gage and Nathaniel’s plans to break Mercy out won’t exactly be easy. Stuffed full of a chemical binding agent, Mercy is trapped inside the body of a convict without the ability to breach and set herself free. Unfortunately for Mercy, being trapped in jail becomes the least of her problems when she meets her evil twin, Justice. 
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...